Smiling China

China, officially the People´s Republic of China, is a sovereign state located in East Asia. China is the world´s most populous country, with a population of over 1.35 billion.

Smiling China


The PRC exercises jurisdiction over 22 provinces, five autonomous regions, four direct-controlled municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin Shanghai, and Chongqing), and two mostly self-governing special administrative regions (Hong Kong and Macau).

Select Region

North_China Southwest_China Northwest_China Nort_East_China East_China South_Central_China Taiwan China
Provinces: Shanghai Anhui Fujian Jiangsu Jiangxi Shandong Zhejiang
North China 1,556,061 km² 164,823,226 105/km²
Provinces: Beijing Henan Hebei Shanxi Tianjin
Northeast China 793,300 km² 109,520,844 138/km²
Provences: Heilongjiang 
Northwest China 3,107,701 km² 96,644,038 60/km²
Provences: Gansu javascript:__doPostBack('Provence','Yunnan') Shaanxi Ningxia Xinjiang
South Central China 1,014,354 km² 383,559,808 378/km²
Provences: Guangdong Hainan Henan Hubei Hunan Guangxi
Hong Kong Macau
Southwest China 2,365,900 km² 192,979,243 82/km²
Provinces:  Chongqing Guizhou Sichuan Yunnan

Population: 1,397,790,000
Km2: 9,596,961 Religion: Budism
Capital of China: Beijing
Cityzens in Capital of China: 19,827,000
International Airport: Beijing Shanghai
Main language: Standard Chinese Countrycode: CN
Currency: CNY China belongs to the Continent: Asia

The history

The Yellow Rivers China
The Yellow Rivers Northern China

The history of China goes back to the ancient civilization – one of the world´s earliest – that flourished in the fertile basin of the Yellow River in the North China Plain

  The Himalaya, Karakoram, Pamir and Tian Shan mountain ranges separate China from South and Central Asia. 

The Yangtze and Yellow Rivers, the third- and sixth-longest in the world, run from the Tibetan Plateau to the densely populated eastern seaboard. China´s coastline along the Pacific Ocean is 14,500 kilometres (9,000 mi) long, and is bounded by the Bohai, Yellow, East and South China Seas. 

The PRC has been a United Nations member since 1971, when it replaced the ROC as a permanent member of the U.N. Security Council. China is also a member of numerous formal and informal multilateral organizations, including the WTO, APEC, BRICS, the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, the BCIM and the G-20.

The Republic of China (ROC)

The Yangtze and Yellow Rivers China
The Yangtze and Yellow Rivers

For millennia, China´s political system was based on hereditary monarchies, known as dynasties, beginning with the semi-mythological Xia of the Yellow River basin . Since 221 BCE, when the Qin Dynasty first conquered several states to form a Chinese empire, the country has expanded, fractured and been reformed numerous times. 

The Republic of China (ROC) overthrew the last dynasty in 1911, and ruled the Chinese mainland until 1949. After the defeat of the Empire of Japan in World War II, the Communist Party defeated the nationalist Kuomintang in mainland China and established the People´s Republic of China in Beijing on 1 October 1949, while the Kuomintang relocated the ROC government to its present capital of Taipei.

Since the introduction of economic reforms in 1978, China has become one of the world´s fastest-growing major economies. As of 2013, it is the world´s second-largest economy by both nominal total GDP and purchasing power parity (PPP), and is also the world´s largest exporter and importer of goods. China is a recognized nuclear weapons state and has the world´s largest standing army, with the second-largest defense budget. 

Anhui is a province of the People's Republic of China, and is part of the East China region. Anhui is located across the basins of the Yangtze River and the Huai River, and borders Jiangsu to the east, Zhejiang to the southeast, Jiangxi to the south, Hubei to the southwest, Henan to the northwest, and Shandong for a tiny section in the north.

Anhui is Covering an area of 139,600 square kilometers (about 53,900 square miles) and is a Major Economic and Technological Development Zones with a total population of 60,300,000 (2013) Inhabitants.